How do you wear Vintage?

Something Old, Something New!

One question I have been asked more than any other is ” Vintage, what does that mean and how do you make it look good without looking exactly what it is OLD?!?!!??”

Well in answer to the first question vintage does not just mean used as in worn last year and then picked up from a charity shop, that is second-hand. Nothing wrong with that though, there are definitely plenty of bargains in all the charity shops. You know what they say” One mans rubbish is another mans treasure” ( I think that’s how it goes!) Anyway I digress.

So generally speaking clothing from the 1920’s is considered antique and from the 20’s to the 80’s vintage. Vintage shopping is a major passion of mine, not jut because I love a bargain but also because I love the idea of having something unique and putting my own up to date stamp on it.

So in answer to the 2nd part of the question I thought it would be easier to show you all. Here is an example of one of my recent purchases and how I put my twist on it…..

 

~ by allysonmccourtstyle on October 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
