Winter Coats

Time To Wrap Up!

Autumn is definitely upon us now and I must say as much as I love summer time and being able to go out sleeveless. I am always ready to add another style of coat to my ever-expanding collection. Well this year there are plenty of styles and colours and materials to choose from. So where do you start?

Well a good place would be determine  exactly what your requirements are, it could be 1 or 2  of the  points listed below!

1.  General all round use

2.  Specifically for work

3.  Evening wear

4.  Casual weekend/wear

5.  To add some colour to your wardrobe, or

6.  A long time investment  buy 

Then ask yourself,

1. What is my budget?

2. What is my style preference?

3. What style flatters my shape?

After that it’s time to consider your options and like I say, this year there are plenty… so I’ve put together a few for you. Here we go…..

I’ve already shown you a lot of Shearling/Aviator styles in earlier posts, so I’ll move swiftly on to another big material this year, fur. If you like your fabrics and have a slightly dramatic personality, this is the coat for you (too make an even bigger impact try it in animal print too). It won’t however be a long time investment buy so I wouldn’t suggest spending too much. Vintage shops are great for these. Here are few I found on the high street.

French Connection  Top Shop

  Top Shop   M&S

If you are slightly more traditional in your style, you could always go for the staple in many a wardrobe the trusty Trench. To keep it bang on trend though try it the colour of the season Camel. Which is /also very classic so a good investment buy. Or add a shock of colour for impact! Have a look below… 

 Top Shop  H&M

  Hobbs    Urban Code/Asos

Fancy something smart in wool? Try the military look…

 Jesire   Hobbs

    Zara    M&S

Maybe you just want to have some fun or a lighter weight cover up for evening. An option then is to try a coat in Boiled Wool a lightweight but cosey alternative, handy if you travel by car a lot too!

 Viyella  Windsmoor

   Precis Petite NW3

For comfortable weekend wear the Parka is everywhere at the moment. You can’t go past it for casual go anywhere, comfyand cosey. You can also combine some fun and try one with a fur trim to be bang on trend.

 Asos  Diesel

 H&M  French Connection

So don’t just rush out and buy the first coat you see, remember clothes are  an extension of ourselves. They should reflect our personality and they should be fun! 

So eliminate any mistakes, remember to check your requirements first and then try some on and have some fun!!!

I’ve made my first purchase the Parka from H&M, very casual and perfect for weekend walks but also throwing on top of femine outfits to bring them down a bit! I also love this Pea coat from Top Shop but I want one in a colour more suitable for my complexion so I think I’ll be trailing the second hand stores (in fact I’ve already started!).

 Fake leather Pea Coat Top Shop £89.00

Well I think I’ve given you plenty to consider and they are all just hitting the shops sept/oct so once again Happy Shopping!!!!!!!!

Remember any wardrobe dilemmas go to www.allysonmccourt.co.uk

~ by allysonmccourtstyle on September 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Winter Coats”

  1. I can’t believe you’ve bought that coat before me!!! I nearly bought one last year and then when I saw the H&M one I decided I had to have it – but thought I would wait till after my hols – too slow!!! It’s great isn’t it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
