London Fashion Week

What might we be wearing in ss11?

I know, I know, it’s not even winter 10 properly yet but it is nice to remind ourselves that the sun will return next year. As much as I like to wrap up in snuggly winter layers I do love the thought of casting them again come spring. This is what gets me through the ice and snow!

So, as I haven’t been so lucky to get up close at any of the 68 shows at LFW this year, I have kept an eye on all the daily up-dates and thought I’d  share a few of the offerings so far.

A colour that made an appearance in a few shows was red whether in a block colour or in graphic prints. Erdem, Giles Deacon and Meadham Kirchhoff favoured this colour. Lace also played a big part which is on the high street at the moment, so nice to know it is carrying through to ss.  

 Giles Deacon     Meadham Kirchhoff 

  Erdem

Bora Aksu and Paul Costello opted for the cooler fresher colours which I think gave the collections quite a futuristic feel. Silvery metallic fabrics and padded shoulders in jackets played a big part. Even the men’s collection was dominated by white/black and grey. Not sure we’ll see too many men walking around inthe shorts though!

  Bora Aksu       Paul Costello

   Paul Costello

Another trend continuing throughto ss is draping. I’m sure most people will be really pleased as this is one of the most flattering styles for all body shapes. Amanda Wakeley kept things very sophisticated in nude shades while Issa and Fashion Fringe opted for some fantastic vibrant colours.

 Amanda Wakeley    Issa

  Fashion Fringe

There was a definite 70’s vibe coming through with Unique and Henry Holland for the younger crowd. A lot of floaty chiffon and wide leg denim.

 Unique   House of Holland

Then there was PPQ which caught my eye, a glorious mix of beautiful colours and lux fabrics. I’m a bit of a magpie and attracted to all things colourful and shiney so this collection hit all my buttons. It must be the drama queen coming out in me!

PPQ   PPQ   PPQ

Now remember ,I did say there was a total of 68 shows, so this is just the tip of the ice berg. If you haven’t seen anything that is hitting your buttons don’t panic there is a lot more to come!

Bye for now and please let me know what are your favouites.

Allyson

~ by allysonmccourtstyle on September 22, 2010.

Leave a comment