Socks!

 My take on socks!

 Well they are all over the catwalk this season in various forms. Ranging from knee- length woolly versions at Prada and Sportmax. Or knee-high and sheer for a more delicate look ,then there is the more subtle ruched or folded style (the fashion- editor sock as described in this weeks You magazine).

Now I actually liked the look of all these style when they first started to appear a few months ago but the weather didn’t exactly require any wool at the time. So I held back and now as it’s started to cool down a bit I thought it was time to give them a go.

So never one to shy away from trying out before I recommend anything to you, I thought I would experiment and see which style I felt comfortable with. I headed to usual shops Such as Top Shop and H&M and River Island. There were quite a few but all the same variety…thick and wooly which wasn’t really what I was looking for. So I went to TK Max a favourite of mine for finding the odd unusual piece that you won’t find anywhere else really. And I did, in fact I came out with 7 pairs! Well I never do anything by halves, in for a penny in for a pound and they were all under £4.00 BARGAIN!

Anyway I had the outfit in mind for Saturday night out with the girls and set of home to try them on. Friday night, a nice glass of wine, watching Ultimate Big Brother and trying on clothes ahh heaven! 

I started with knee-length argyle print, matched the colour to the shoes( to try to lengthen the legs) umm ” I’ve seen you looking better mam”, said my 12-year-old daughter. Not a good start. So I moved on to some sheer brown ones trimmed with animal print, ” better than the last ones”  she said. I agreed but think I’m starting to tire of all things wild  already.

So I settled for the fashion-editor version. The new camel colour (deeper version of nude) really worked as it wasn’t too far removed from the colour of my legs and as they were mid calf helped to make my legs look longer.  Oh and how comfy did they make my shoes, definitely an added bonus. I didn’t feel the need to go looking for a bar stool to rest my poor aching feet for at least ooh an hour!!

So here they are, what do you think? and might you be giving them a go?

~ by allysonmccourtstyle on September 13, 2010.

3 Responses to “Socks!”

  1. So pleased to have you testing these styles for me Allyson. You look great but they’re not for me. For a start I never wear a skirt, secondly I like my socks in odd colours – fine under my trousers but not with a skirt ;o)

    • Hi Janice,

      No it’s not a look for everyone I must agree – odd socks though ummm there’s a thought! Didn’t Katie Price work that look once. Not under trousers though, come to think of it was with a pair of knickers I think. Not exactly a fashion icon!

  2. Yep Al they look fab on you!! Want to see the whole Collection! Please keep posting 😉 Knee length! Knee length! Well, you did get me into a jumpsuit…..& belts pretty fast post-baby….reckon I’ll have socks on anytime soon other than gym socks? haha

Leave a Reply

 
